Of lost respect and Perennial Awe


Some months back  I read it was Senior Citizen’s Day…..With the eroding values and with todays fast life we often forget we need to respect our elders always….not just on one day….A poem on this

So I guess it is that time when we have to take time and pause to think for them?
It is time to once again haunt the flower shops, get bouquets, adding to the conundrum
It is time to thank them, and move on with life once more waiting for this day to yet gain come
And then to lay back in silence and silently be oblivious to whaterver is in store for them

I still have not understood why we celebrate special days
Why is it that we never try to get out of this non stop craze
Elders are elders- we are what we are because of them
Why do we need a special day, why create this mayhem

For all those seniors in my life, starting with my mother
I couldnt do without them, my life otherwise would have been a whimper
For that grey haired professor who taught me physics
For that silver streaked professor who introduced me to mathematics
For that lady in a crisp white saree who taught me how to stitch
For that Ayah in the school who we always tried to bewitch
Elders were there all along, they have been a part of my life
Why to have a special day for them, remembering them always aint such a strife

For that elderly couple who lived on the first floor
For that bespectacled shopkeeper who peered through the door
For that silver haired laundry fella who ironed our uniforms
for that freckled face cleaning lady who cleaned the school dorms
For those very important seniors, my grandpa and my grandpa
And of course innumerable maternal aunts and uncles, Oh la la

Out of all these there is only one woman who stands out
She is my mother cos from her I exist, my papa in tow no doubt
Hats off to all these elders to all these people who made a difference
I doubt if there is anything better to bring into our life good sense.

Leave a Reply

