Alone In A Crowd


hello
hello (Photo credit: the past tends to disappear)

Mr. Deodatta Shenai Khatkhate http://dshenai.wordpress.com/ requested me to write on ““being surrounded by people in the crowd and yet one finding oneself to be alone and disconnected in that new or changed environment” My take on this.

The peal of laughter streaked across the room,

The loud noises never ending

The clanking of plates, of spoons and the motor  room

The incessant chatter unwinding

The slow hum of the airconditioner

And the loud “Hellos ” and “Hi”

The bouquets, the stands, the strands of flower

All waiting to be sent with a goodbye

 I was surrounded by people

Yet I found myself alone

Found me being so disconnected

Found myself so forlorn

The music blaring in the background

And the sound of slow traffic outside

It was no less than a cricket ground

With constant noise on the other side

 I was surrounded by people

Yet I found myself alone

Found me being so disconnected

Found myself so forlorn

The next morning I woke up

and went out for a walk

Where was the happiness within me

Where was that constant laughter and talk?

I looked at the people doing various things

They all seemed a blur

There was something missing and I did not know what

I tried one thing and another

I was surrounded by people

Yet I found myself alone

Found me being so disconnected

Found myself so forlorn

 I knew not what to do

In this new surrounding

I knew that my inner voice was true

Decided to give it a sounding.

Asked I to myself

why am I lonely in a crowd?

I walked up and looked at the sky

And thought of all that God had endowed

Then suddenly came the reply

And it was in front of me all the while

Why of why I didn’t think of it

I shook my head with a smile

I left the noise behind me

And walked up to the baby on the street

Picked it up and gave one look at it

All my pining toppled like a fleet

No more was I lonely, no more upset

For it was innocence I was seeking

When I saw the little child

I realized what I was really missing

The world is a stage

And we the actors

I wanted the genuine look

The child gave it all and all that it had

Never asking for anything I took

Never feel lonely never feel low

Just go to the root of the problem

Always hold your head up high

And look down only when there is mayhem.

Just a lesson for those who care

And for those like you who wanted it

This is all that I can share

For your request I gave my two bit.

7 thoughts on “Alone In A Crowd”

  1. Thanks a lot., Rad Ar. I am impressed with your creativity and spontaneity, especially creating such a beautiful poem in a matter of minutes…simply amazing and awesome!

    Please do keep up the great work, and the creative juices flowing. I will continue to visit your blog, time and time again, to read your wonderful poems.

    Importantly, thanks for the brilliant positive spin (totally unexpected and pleasant one!), which makes this poem really inspirational. Best Regards.

    -Deodatta

      1. Thanks Rad Ar. Actually I was thinking more about the nostalgia (rather than distress or like negative feelings of loneliness), slightly different angle. I realize now that my original request had remained unopened – as I can see in your post, it is still awaiting moderation. On the following day I had sent additional note building on earlier, which was opened (but probably didn’t communicate the message as clearly). Your poem certainly addressed the topic with an interesting perspective, which I liked a lot as well.

        I am copying the original note (the unopened one) here, which can give some clarity on my request:

        “That’s an interesting question. Many might opt for love or friendship or losing in love etc as general topics of interest. I would like to request a somewhat different topic such as “being surrounded by people in the crowd and yet one finding oneself to be alone and disconnected in that new or changed environment.” To illustrate further, e.g. the feelings of an NRI visiting Mumbai or like city after a long time (25-30 years), who is finding that everything (culture, moral values, place, people, attitudes etc) has apparently changed from the old image frozen and set in his mind. Who knows, this may be a well explored territory. Thought I should suggest it to you. Thanks a lot for asking. I think it’s a great initiative.”

        Cheers!

Leave a Reply

